Get to Know – Emily Vanderburg

As many of you know, I’ve been blogging and posting on social media for a few years now. I’ve followed thousands of people in that amount of time and have always loved the way that this community of girls supports one another. It’s pretty amazing, really. When searching for a topic for a blog post, I thought it’d be awesome to highlight some amazing woman and their individual stories.  I’ve been following these girls that I am about to introduce you to over the next week or so for varying amounts of time but all of them have had significant impacts on me and on the other people who follow them. They all bring something amazing to the table and I can’t wait for you to meet them!

First up is Emily! She is from my hometown of Concord, NC! I love her Foodie Instagram because her posts are simply beautiful. She makes everything she posts look like it came out of a magazine! I recommend that you go follow her after you read this!

emily vanderberg

What’s your name?

Emily Vanderburg

How old are you?


What’s your Instagram handle?


What inspires you everyday?

My family, friends, fiancé.

Go to meal?

Chicken veggie one pan meal! 

What’s your go-to meal?

I have a chicken veggie pan on my blog under recipes! So easy and I love easy after a hard day at work. ( I love to season chicken in lemon, pepper, sea salt, a little bone broth and coconut aminos before I cook it

What’s a normal day look like for you?

I wake up around 4:50, get an hour workout in, go to work from 8-5ish, see about 18 patients a day- come home and EAT, hang with my fiancé, and re-energize to do it again.

Tell me about your life in 5 sentences.

I have been in school for the majority of my life thus far. I worked super hard to become a health care provider and it is a challenging career. I spend most of my time with my fiancé and family. We love grilling, drinking wine, and spoiling our pets on the weekends. We try to travel every chance we get. 

Red or white wine?


Favorite hobby?

My biggest hobby is staying active- I love yoga, running, and cycle. I like learning new things and challenging myself through fitness. 

Favorite workout and why?

Running, I love the challenge and the post run high. 

How do you manage your time everyday? 

I plan ahead, meal prep, stay on task, and stay organized. 

Top 5 favorite apps on your phone and why?

Mapmyrun, love it for distance runs. Anthropologie, because shopping :). Epocrates and medscape are my medical apps that help a lot for prescription info and staying up to date with latest medical news. Yelp, because I love yelping when I am traveling for the hot food spots. 

What are your 5, 10 and 15 year plans and goals?

5 years, married with couple kids- I would like to still be working but maybe thinking about specializing in my current profession. I also want to be done with my nutrition degree, planning to get it online. Have my blog up and running. 

10 years, working as a PA and nutritionist. Spending most of my time with my family and traveling.

15 years, travel and family is all I want in my plans! 


When you decide to specialize, what area do you think it will be in?

If I specialize then I am thinking to either do bariatric medicine so I can get involved in the nutrition and weight part or find a more functional medicine clinic down the road. I love my job right now though so that would probably be years from now.

Where all have you traveled?

This past year we planned a big trip to Belize, which was amazing. I also traveled to San Diego recently to take some CME courses and that was a great trip also. I have the Belize trip posted on my blog and I am planning to post the San Diego trip soon. (


Where do you plan to go next?

We plan to go to Italy next year for our honeymoon and I am very excited to be able to go to Europe, it has been a dream for a long time but school always got in the way.

Who is your hero and why?

My mom, she is amazing- she handles every situation perfectly and she is always happy and sweet no matter what happens. She gives so much to people and she is so patient. She listens well when you have a problem and is always supportive. She works her butt off and has a stressful job but you would never know when she is having a bad day or stressed.

Whats your biggest pet peeve?

Dog hair on my floor and furniture.

Do you have pets? 

YES, my dog is a german shepherd lab mix and she is perfect.



If you love pretty pictures of yummy food and motivation to eat something healthy, go follow Emily on Instagram!

Look for my next get to know you post in a few days, featuring another one of my favorite people to follow, Raya Manova!

<3 AJ